Friday, September 2, 2011

The blogger/runner is back! sort of .... ;)

Hello followers – if I have any left after my two month hiatus from the “blogosphere” – but regardless…now I am back. What’s new in my world? Married? Yes. More mature? Certainly not. Wiser? Hell no. But my running & health journey must continue – so I have turned to public humiliation once again (i.e. publishing my tales to a blog) as a form of motivation.

Now, I felt like running a half marathon was going to be an epic craziness – but it turned out to be much easier and more enjoyable then I first believed. Am I ready to tackle another one? Yes. However, the seasons are preparing to change – and opportunities for races are slowly dwindling. And it would require some training to be back ready for a 13.1. UGH! However, in an effort to continue my running journey – I am in the process of rounding up a group of unfortunates ----I mean friends, to join me for the Spokane Marathon as a Relay team….not too bad eh? Longest distances is 7.2 miles, shortest is 5.8 miles & there are four legs. That adventure is on October 9th, so a little over a month. Yay! If you are interested, hit me up and we can coordinate. J

However, back to the heart of the story.

So last night was yet another Flying Irish Thursday run. And folks, I have been avoiding exercise with a full time passion. But I do attempt to make it to O’doherty’s at the designated running time every week or so. The past couple I have done, have been exhausting and pathetic on my part (I’d like to blame the 80+ degree temp, but taking a month plus break from running didn’t help the situation). If nothing else, I get a beer when it’s over. However, last night, I actually managed, despite having not exercised in close to two weeks, to run the whole 3 miles!! Sure, my legs were wobbling when it ended and I was panting like a crazy – but I did it.

Its quite an amazing feeling to complete a run, and know you did better then you believed possible. Even if it was only 3 miles. Also, that in it self is an accomplishment for, to actually to believe a statement like “its only three miles” – I may become a real true runner yet!

Sunday, June 19, 2011

Mission Accomplished!

Well, I'm here to officially tell my blog followers that my half-marathon run was a success! Despite my best efforts to not be prepared, I finished my half-marathon, the See Jane Run in Boise, yesterday in 2 hours and 38 minutes. That, if you are counting, is just over a 12 minute mile on average. A respectable pace for a first timer, at least in my book.

Overall, it actually was a really enjoyable experience. I was blessed with a running buddy, my girlfriend Sara, for over half of the race. We merrily chatted about everything as we ran the first 7 3/4 miles together...at which point my need to start incorporating more walking into my pace. Just before the Mile 8 water station, I sent Sara on her way ahead, while I slowed back.

In general, I felt really good throughout - I stuck with my Power Bar Energy Gel-Chew thingies, eating about one every mile and half or so. The only disappointment I truly had revolved around water station issues. I was unaware that water stations also were handing out gatorade, so I unsuspectingly got gatorade and not water at the first station. That's a bit of a shock when you damn near throw the liquid into your face...luckily I restrained myself. Then I patiently waited until the next water station, two miles away, only to find out they had ran out of water. WTF. However, this did little to dampen my spirits, although it could have. But when you are only 4 miles into a 13 mile race you probably should keep your cool at that point.

After that I made sure that I walked through each water station, grabbing two cups of water - one to throw day my back, and the other to drink. I was really thankful that it turned out to be a mild morning in Boise, mostly overcast, with a little sun and no wind. It was perfect for running.

As for my soreness, it seems to be isolate to my hips, and shoulder muscles, as well as the ball of my right foot. However, I did spend 6.5 hours in the car today - so I'm sure that didn't help my stiffness.

Getting to mile 10 seemed like my biggest goal - leaving me with only the equivalent of 5k between me and the finish line. Well, it was a slow 5k - I hit mile 10 at just about 2 hours - meaning my last 3.1 were quite a bit slower then my overall average. If your curious, the longest mile was the last one - I swear it dragged on forever. However, I managed to make a good sprint starting at the 13 mile marker, so for that last 1/10th of a mile I think I may have set a 6-7 minute pace ;)

In the end, I crossed the finish line at a sprint - I got a medal, and a glass of champagne with chocolate - it was worth every minute and ounce of sweat and it wasn't as hard as it could have been. The verdict? I'm so doing it again. But not until I can walk without my well earned limp ;)

I hope to write again before my wedding but I make no promises, and then I will be off to Thailand for my Honeymoon, but I will be back in mid July - hopefully with a new goal, and some new tales of running woe. Until then Happy Running!

Wednesday, June 15, 2011

Observations of an Observer

Well folks, the heat is on. My very first half marathon is Saturday. (Insert sound of my impending doom).

In anticipation of my upcoming muscle soreness and brush with what surely will feel like certain death, I shall revisit my weekend experience of attending my first marathon (as a spectator, obviously). My hometown, hosted its first ever marathon, half marathon and 5K this past Sunday- which I didn’t register for. I already had my brain set on the one in Boise, based solely upon its bribes of wine and chocolate. So, I declined to participate and can honestly say now, I am sad I did. This is for a couple of reasons. 1. I am actually fiercely proud of my little hometown, and still consider it home despite having not lived there full time for almost 8 years. Also, there is a total support system when you do things in a small town, and are from said small town – all the locals were cheering other locals – while I have no doubt I will get encouragement from strangers at my See Jane Run half (and from my lovely ladies running with me) but its not quite the same as feeling like you have a town behind you. 2. I am buried in wedding planning, so I sort of wish I wasn’t leaving town to go to Boise for a weekend that could be spent on the wedding to do list. Put these together, and I am truly sad that I was a baby and didn’t participate in the first ever St. Joe Marathon.

Since I didn’t get the privilege of running the St. Joe Half, I decided to do what journalists do – write about it instead. Here are a few of my observations of the differences between half marathons and marathons:

Clearly half marathons are more attractive. The number of runners in the half was easily 2 to 3 times the number of full marathon victims (I mean participants) – which leads me to the conclusion that there are safety in numbers, and thus half marathons are safer. Or less scary. Or both. Not to mention, when you are out for a run that will last more then a couple hours, do you really want to be by yourself? Plus I am a sucker for what is popular.

People seem to actually have enjoyed themselves when they crossed the finish line of the half marathon, versus the finishers of the full. Runners of the half were smiley and cheerful, and tired, but not at all down trodden. After a little recuperation, most appeared to be able to function normally, albeit a little sore. Runners of the marathon seemed to be relieved, exhausted, and confused as to their location. I am fairly sure that I didn’t see any marathon finisher who did not have at least minor limp. Most marathon finishers appeared to have a weariness that I would associated to the feeling of being beaten with a stick. The half marathoners at least appeared 3.6 times more happy. A first time marathon finisher was overheard saying “never doing that shit again” – oh joy. More then one half finisher said – “that wasn’t TOO bad.”

However the silver lining was the observed similarity between the two groups. The overwhelming sense of camaraderie between participants. People cheering and clapping for folks they had never met, stories of strangers giving words of encouragement to those struggling. War stories of the route were shared freely. Everyone who had a finisher medal seemed to be genuinely proud of their little badge of honor – as they should be. Most made sure it was still visible on the outside of their clothes as they donned jackets and sweatshirts post race. They all seemed to smile just a bit brighter, realizing the enormity of achievement.

So when I say I am nervous for my race, it’s the truth. But it was quite the sight to see some many people, all shapes and sizes, so proud of their accomplishment and sporting their medal. I wanted to be one of them. I wanted to feel that pride – so whether I run, walk, limp, crawl and or cry my way to end on Saturday – I want to finish more then anything. So, if you get the chance, on Friday night or Saturday morning – send me some good vibes, thoughts and or prayers. Happy Running!

Wednesday, June 1, 2011

The run that almost wasn't

The last couple weeks have been really shitty running weeks. I truly believe I have back peddled and am where I was at the beginning of May. That's a real crappy realization to have when my upcoming half marathon is looming -- just 17 days to go. However, that crappy realization was followed quickly by my reminding myself that the goal is to finish the half marathon- perhaps not run the whole 13.1 -- a bit of a lower of the expectations that I started with - but considering the hit my dedication to running has taken - its reasonable.

Wow, this post sort of started with a rant - but it was a long time coming. Clearly i have not blogged in a few weeks. Yes, i have been running ....a little - not nearly as much as I should be. There is something they should emphasize to brides-to-be....all the free time you thought you had will evaporate into the ever growing to do list that is planning your own wedding. The closer the day comes, the more you realize you have to do. And when you do have a free time, you feel like doing nothing, not doing something say running. But I am list maker, and finally I feel like I have gained control of the wedding to do list - but it came with a price. One item being my running. Gah. Tonight, I promised myself a run -- and in an effort to just get going again I set it for a time rather than a distance - one hour. And folks I barely survive 25 minutes. I felt that I had the speed of a giant tortoise and the energy of a sloth swimming in concrete. I ALMOST gave up. Then I did something I didn't expect - I kept going. Now, I'm not sure if I should be writing Power Bar and thanking for their gummy product things (think oversized gummy bears that are raspberry flavored) and offering to give a testimonial but I somehow (probably with those little gummies' help) got through the slump - and managed to go for an hour and 7 minutes

....now I know what you are thinking "you badass." Now before you start patting me on the back, know this: yes, I walked about 10 minutes after the 25 minute mark (you know right when I wanted to quit and die simultaneously) -- but I managed to run out the remainder of my time. The only bad part is that this is no where near where I had hoped to be by this point in the training. Sure, trips to Vegas for an amazing bachelorette party, dress fittings, and a variety of other activities are fun - but they do little to encourage me to go for a run (and or leave little time to do so). So while I am not convinced I am going to be able to run 13.1 miles in 2.5 weeks -- I do know that my resolve is getting better - and that power bar's gummies are the best tasting energy thing I've tried so far.

Happy Running!

Friday, May 13, 2011

Running to Running Club

Yesterday was my usual Thursday running club night. Now, typically I make it home from work with enough time to change, and grab my car and head back downtown for the run - but early yesterday I decided I wanted to try something a little different. I knew that I would make it home with a few minutes to spare - when typically I will do as little as possible - so I thought I would put myself to better use. I decided to run from my house to the O'Doherty's rather then take my car and set myself up for yet another parking ticket. (they are like mosquito bites, you get one, you'll get twenty)

So I laced up my kicks, donned my running gear and set out for the 2.5 mile trek to the running club meeting spot. One key problem with my plan was my clear misunderstanding that running downhill is ...well.... still running. Shit. However, I made it! and I felt really good about doing a little extra, when so far I feel like this running journey has consisted of my doing the bare minimum.

Oddly enough, after the real run (a little over 3 mile loop) took off, I actually thought "my legs are already a little tired...wonder why?" Sometimes I'm not as smart as I look... ;) Even more surprising, I actually managed to keep a fairly good pace for the Flying Irish run - enough where I thought, if only for a moment or two..."Way to go Steph!" It ended fairly well, back at O'd's in time for a cold beverage( or two...and cheese fries to share), and to hear two more of my girls, Sara and Meredith, tell their jokes and become full fledged shirted members of the Flying I.

Also, I tried a new energy gel thingy m'bob. This one is made by Clif Bars - "Razz" flavored. While it tasted a tiny bit better then the Power Bar version, it had the thickness of jam...blah. While these little things aren't nearly as bad as I try to make them sound -- I'm not yet sold on them doing anything for me....I took this one after my trot downhill and before the main event ....but who knows how I would have faired without....perhaps lying on the side of the road, but I can't be sure about that....;) All in all yesterday was about 5.5 miles of running glory for this chica!

On a more personal note, for those of you still not sold on this running thing...I have dropped a pants size since starting this journey, and haven't changed really any other aspect of my life (i.e. I still drink like a hell-hound on most weekends, and I indulge in fried food, sugar, and salt on a non-discriminatory basis) alright alright, I am conscious of what I eat and drink, so maybe that is different, but I am certainly not tied down by a diet, and I feel like I am still changing the way I look. :)

Happy Running!!

Tuesday, May 10, 2011

Spring Sprang Sprung

After spending a week blaming Bloomsday for not running, I gave up with my anti-running efforts today - and set out to shake off the cobwebs and continue on my training-running journey.

The weather in Spokane has finally decided to do be Spring, and man, today was beautiful. A big blue sky and temperatures that make shorts and tees a real option (aside from the whiteness that is my legs). I knew all day that it was a running day. I map out a few different options for myself, but not sure what sort of distance I should shoot for after taking....*cough* 7 or 8 days off. ick. I decided that 3 was too short, and 7 was probably pushing it. I set up at nice 4.5 miler that took me down to a great vantage point overlooking downtown Spokane, including some hills, and flat stuff - and required nothing more then taking off from my back door.

In order to test out the "energy" shots that people talk about, I downed a Power Bar Gel thingy that was Raspberry Creme as I edged out the door. The first gulp tasted as expected, like raspberry creme, not bad! The second gulp hit me and tasted like medicine laced with raspberry crap. Eh. But I did did take off with a pretty good stride for the first couple miles. By the 3rd mile, I think what ever placebo effect that I had wore off, and I felt like normal -- mediocre. But after looping back towards home and taking in the beautiful day as I overlooked downtown, my second wind kicked in, and soon I was within striking distance of home. Even managed to make a good block sprint home.

I don't know if it was the sunshine or seeing so many people out doing the same thing as me, but today's run felt good. Happy Running!

Monday, May 2, 2011

A Bright Sunny Bloomsday

First and foremost, before I get into the tails of Bloomsday, I must gloat --- my wedding is 2 months from today!!!! I can’t believe how soon it is!! What a journey it has been so far!! Ok, moving on…

Bloomsday is an annual spectacle in Spokane that entices tens of thousands of folks on a 7.46 mile journey that before it ends has many asking, “Why the hell am I doing this?!?!”

This year’s race was my second bite at the Bloomsday apple, with last year being my first experience when I elected to run it ‘off the couch.’ Last year, I finished with a surprisingly decent pace of 13 minutes a mile, equating to roughly 1 hour and 38 minutes of physical exertion –and I spent the remainder of that sunny Sunday laying on a couch, feeling as if I had been hit by a freight train. Any time I chose to get up from the couch, say to retrieve food or use the bathroom, required that I roll off the couch, and proceed to gingerly to go from my hands and knees to a hunched standing position, and an awkward shuffle to my desired destination.

However you, as one of my readers, are probably aware this year’s Bloomsday took place during my half-marathon training journey, so I can honestly say I felt a bit more prepared. I genuinely had reasons to believe that I was not doomed to an afternoon of imprisonment on a couch. But, this reason also made the event that much more nerve-wracking. It meant that I was actually supposed to be one of those crazy assholes who run all of Bloomsday. Yes - the whole way, even the dreaded ¾ mile monster referred to lovingly as Doomsday hill. The week leading up to this year’s race, I had this foreboding feeling in my mind, that if I failed to do better at Bloomsday then last year, I probably was never going to be able to finish a half-marathon – especially not the one I am signed up for on June 18th. Nothing like a good fashioned sense of dread to really kick off a race.

My dread was accompanied by my knowledge that there would be witnesses to any failure. Why? Bloomsday results are published and of my friends whom I run with were signed up to run Bloomsday as well.

With all of this weighing on my mind, I committed to setting myself up for success. Saturday night involved a carbo-load dinner with other ‘Bloomies’ (aka Bloomsday participants) at an Italian restaurant, and I did not have a sip of alcohol that day. I went to bed early, and on Sunday morning got up at a reasonable time, eating a balanced breakfast of an egg, an English muffin and raspberry yogurt. Then all my girls, (plus Meredith’s fiancĂ©) descending upon my home for the trek to the bus stop for our journey to the Bloomsday start line. The bus was loaded with Bloomies, and some Spokies, one girl actually asked “You guys really have enough energy to run that race?” Clearly this girl didn’t know me and wasn’t too observant, because at that point I was as perky and energetic as ever (a truly scary thought), as I was determined to be totally hyped and ready to kick this races ass by the time we reached downtown.

The start line of Bloomsday is a total zoo. There is not a better way to describe 50,000 runners, walkers, and strollers crammed onto a street waiting their turn to take off. Each participant is grouped into a colored category, based upon their expected finish times. The groups are then herded (yes, like cattle) to the start line on after another, with the fastest groups starting first, with the next being started a few minutes later, and so on and so forth. Our group, where we were starting, was the orange group, and approximately the fourth or fifth group off, so we were paraded forward about two blocks before we actually made it to the start-line. In fact by the time we reached the “start line”, the female winner of Bloomsday from the Elite group had already crossed the finish line, 7.46 miles away with a time of 40 minutes. Holy shit.

And then, we were off. Some folks take off like a bats out of hell --- in my mind if these folks are pretending that they probably should have been in a faster heat, but best of luck to ‘em. Me, Texie, and Sara had decided to try to stick together the whole race, so at one point I actually grabbed Texie’s hand in an effort to keep us together during the melee that was our start. And together we stayed. No,w Texie is a seasoned running vet in my mind, having ran a full marathon in a rain storm. And Sara runs long distances all the time. I figured the three of us would probably make it as far as mile 3 together. Except for one thing, they both kept letting me catch up. I tended to be the one in the back, and if didn’t catch up on my own, I found the leader (usually Texie) waiting patiently for me at the top of the next hill. The only point where we seemed to really spread out was at the dreaded Doomsday hill, which is between miles 4 and 5. Basically we decided to meet at the top. I brought up the rear, after finding that my speed walking was faster then the trot I could pull going up that bastard so I walked about ¾ of the hill. As I neared the top, I was able to get back into my running stride, and there, faithful as ever waited Texie and Sara. The remainder of the race is a fairly flat run through some neighborhoods as you snake back to the finish line. The last long stretch from approximately 6.25 to 7.25 seems to never end but eventually does when round you a corner and the finish line appears downhill from you. I was born a natural sprinter so that last dash was my only claim to glory for the entire race.

The end result? 1:19:46. Not only did I beat my time from last year, but I kicked its ass. I averaged a pace of 10 minutes and 41 seconds per mile – and I even managed that with my partial walk up Doomsday hill. Boom!

I feel really accomplished, and am confident that my half marathon may not kill me! Happy Running!