Sunday, June 19, 2011

Mission Accomplished!

Well, I'm here to officially tell my blog followers that my half-marathon run was a success! Despite my best efforts to not be prepared, I finished my half-marathon, the See Jane Run in Boise, yesterday in 2 hours and 38 minutes. That, if you are counting, is just over a 12 minute mile on average. A respectable pace for a first timer, at least in my book.

Overall, it actually was a really enjoyable experience. I was blessed with a running buddy, my girlfriend Sara, for over half of the race. We merrily chatted about everything as we ran the first 7 3/4 miles together...at which point my need to start incorporating more walking into my pace. Just before the Mile 8 water station, I sent Sara on her way ahead, while I slowed back.

In general, I felt really good throughout - I stuck with my Power Bar Energy Gel-Chew thingies, eating about one every mile and half or so. The only disappointment I truly had revolved around water station issues. I was unaware that water stations also were handing out gatorade, so I unsuspectingly got gatorade and not water at the first station. That's a bit of a shock when you damn near throw the liquid into your face...luckily I restrained myself. Then I patiently waited until the next water station, two miles away, only to find out they had ran out of water. WTF. However, this did little to dampen my spirits, although it could have. But when you are only 4 miles into a 13 mile race you probably should keep your cool at that point.

After that I made sure that I walked through each water station, grabbing two cups of water - one to throw day my back, and the other to drink. I was really thankful that it turned out to be a mild morning in Boise, mostly overcast, with a little sun and no wind. It was perfect for running.

As for my soreness, it seems to be isolate to my hips, and shoulder muscles, as well as the ball of my right foot. However, I did spend 6.5 hours in the car today - so I'm sure that didn't help my stiffness.

Getting to mile 10 seemed like my biggest goal - leaving me with only the equivalent of 5k between me and the finish line. Well, it was a slow 5k - I hit mile 10 at just about 2 hours - meaning my last 3.1 were quite a bit slower then my overall average. If your curious, the longest mile was the last one - I swear it dragged on forever. However, I managed to make a good sprint starting at the 13 mile marker, so for that last 1/10th of a mile I think I may have set a 6-7 minute pace ;)

In the end, I crossed the finish line at a sprint - I got a medal, and a glass of champagne with chocolate - it was worth every minute and ounce of sweat and it wasn't as hard as it could have been. The verdict? I'm so doing it again. But not until I can walk without my well earned limp ;)

I hope to write again before my wedding but I make no promises, and then I will be off to Thailand for my Honeymoon, but I will be back in mid July - hopefully with a new goal, and some new tales of running woe. Until then Happy Running!

No comments:

Post a Comment