Saturday, February 26, 2011

Spring decided to hibernate, and so did I.

So, upon making this commitment to sign up for a half marathon and starting a blog - I promptly did the worst thing ever. Not run for, um, about 4 days. I did get registered, and paid my $75 entry fee, so at least monetarily I am committed. I would like to say that I was all my fault, but it wasn't. 1. Spokane went from almost flip flop weather to sub zero deep freeze plus a foot of snow....Grr. Not to be snooty, but I sure as hell am not (yet) one of the crazy runners that you see delicately parading up the ice covered streets - I don't trust myself one iota to be able to not injury myself. 2. I hate running on treadmills - if you know of any tricks on how to overcome this, I am all ears ;)

However, because I really truly want to take this seriously, I did spend part of my Saturday morning at the gym. It was the first time I ran since committing to training. It was also the first time my mind was thinking while running, "I am training for a half marathon." Not going to lie, it was a great motivator. Downside - I made it only two miles. And probably sweated out two to three pints of the micro beer that seemed like such a great idea about 14 hours earlier. So, either I can't run the three miles I thought I could, or carb- loading with a six-pack plus 1 or 2, isn't what you would call a pre-workout prep. I am guessing the truth is a little of column A and a little of column B.

Also, I did some research on this (ever the lawyer), and found out the best way to get over feelings of not enjoying running, is to simply tell yourself the opposite. I love running. There, I said it. Next step - believe it. :)

Tuesday, February 22, 2011

In the beginning....

So this is it. I am blogging for the first time in my life. And why? Well, for starters to document what is likely going to be the pretty interesting next few months - as I train for a half marathon (and even more importantly, prepare myself for the ultimate plunge - marriage). I made the decision that I was going to embark on this adventure as a gift to myself for my 26th birthday. I realized that I am not getting any younger, and I need to start taking better care of myself - and with the wedding approaching in less than 150 days - I need to kick my working out and getting into shape plan into high gear. So, I am registering for a half marathon that will be two weeks before my wedding.

Half Marathon: June 18th
Wedding: July 2nd

To be honest - working out isn't a new thing for me. I used to be quite the athlete, some might even say I was pretty good --- however, that was in high school, which was........... well, it is getting farther in the past with every passing day. Now that I am post college and post law school, during both of which I ate my feelings, and drank away my weekends --- and weigh more then a few pounds heavier then my 18 year old self ---- I have realized that I have let other things get in the way of what I used to really enjoy - being active. Sure, I have worked out over the years. Hell, I currently work out about 3 days a week (albeit not the most grueling of training sessions). and I have ran in various 5ks, and last year even ran in the local 12k, and didn't finish with a half bad time. But that has not been enough, and I am not making the commitment to myself that I know that I truly deserve. So what better motivator then force? or spending 75 bucks and committing to 13.1 miles of physical exertion??? :) I am not a diet person, nor am I obsessed with the number on the scale. Honestly I think that physical activity is the best way to achieve a healthy life. So here goes nothing, me the girl that is not in really that great of shape (yet!), is going to spend the next 4 months of my life preparing for something I never thought I'd even want to do.

So far, so good. Using Facebook as the social outlet it is, I was shocked at how many of my friends (friends who actually know me) thought I could do this. So, who am I to tell them they are wrong??? Not only have my friends and family encouraged me - but they went so for as to buy me running swag for my birthday as a motivator to take this thing seriously. Additionally, I bought a book on all things running, to help in my prep. Additionally, I have wedding dress arriving 4 weeks before the race, and I would love to have to make a million alterations to it because its simply too big.

So Alright - I have survived my first post. Tomorrow, when it is not 10 pm, I will try to survive the point to all this blogging (i.e. over sharing), running. :)