So, upon making this commitment to sign up for a half marathon and starting a blog - I promptly did the worst thing ever. Not run for, um, about 4 days. I did get registered, and paid my $75 entry fee, so at least monetarily I am committed. I would like to say that I was all my fault, but it wasn't. 1. Spokane went from almost flip flop weather to sub zero deep freeze plus a foot of snow....Grr. Not to be snooty, but I sure as hell am not (yet) one of the crazy runners that you see delicately parading up the ice covered streets - I don't trust myself one iota to be able to not injury myself. 2. I hate running on treadmills - if you know of any tricks on how to overcome this, I am all ears ;)
However, because I really truly want to take this seriously, I did spend part of my Saturday morning at the gym. It was the first time I ran since committing to training. It was also the first time my mind was thinking while running, "I am training for a half marathon." Not going to lie, it was a great motivator. Downside - I made it only two miles. And probably sweated out two to three pints of the micro beer that seemed like such a great idea about 14 hours earlier. So, either I can't run the three miles I thought I could, or carb- loading with a six-pack plus 1 or 2, isn't what you would call a pre-workout prep. I am guessing the truth is a little of column A and a little of column B.
Also, I did some research on this (ever the lawyer), and found out the best way to get over feelings of not enjoying running, is to simply tell yourself the opposite. I love running. There, I said it. Next step - believe it. :)
No comments:
Post a Comment