The following post was inspired by my most recent run, which occurred 30 minutes prior this post. I made the adult-pet-loving decision to include my beloved two year old Jack Russell Terrier, "Moose", in my run. Lord knows he needed the exercise, and its just too cute when he gets excited for a trip with the leash. Also, I knew it was not going to be a long run, as I have been suffering from shin splints and am a wussy - so it ended up being a paltry 2 miles, tops. but I digress.....
5. The running book specifically listed terriers as a poor running partner
Oops. Who said everything you need to know is in a book, but now, i have to agree that the author was probably right. (All of the reasons she gave, are almost identical to my next 3, but shit, this wouldn't be a good post if I listed one and done). After all, I don't have a lab, golden retriever or doberman, and am not going to go get one just so I have a running partner. So I got the dog before I took up running - i guess we'll just have to make do with what I've got...or convince my fiance to get me another puppy :)
4. The Dog looks more attractive running then I do.
So, I'm not going to brag or anything...but my dog is cute as shit. (The doesn't mean he has the personality to match, for those of my readers fortunate enough to meet Sir Moose). Also, for weighing in 15.5 pounds - he has one of the most muscular bodies for a dog ever. And I am supposed to compete with that? Let's just say "muscular" isn't a term I used to describe my current physique. Curvy...now that's closer to the truth, now i don't think I am unattractive, but i certainly am not hear to ring my own bell. But overall the dog has me beat ...bad news bears. He actually got checked out by a passing car during our run - no joke. I could actually see the driver say "so cute" - yeah lady, he's get it all the time. thanks. You know who didn't get checked out by a passing car - or at least not so obviously (Moose's admirer slowed down, and literally watch him trot by)...Me. Again - thanks.
3. Holding on to a Leash while running messes with my running mojo.
I definitely feel impeded when running holding on to a leash - well, duh, obviously because I can't swing my arms - anyone who knows me, knows that I am always moving my arms while blabbering away -- and while I run is no different. I figure if I can keep my arms pumping I'll forget how much my lower body is not enjoying the experience. This brings me to number 2....
2. The Dog has running ADD.
It may be shocking for those of you who have had experiences with Jack Russell Terriers, and are familiar with their urges to hunt and chase things - but Moose seems like to lunge at literally everything. Squirrels. Other dogs. Cars. Bikes. Rustling Leaves. Being only 15 lbs means he doesn't get away or knock me down, but the little bugger is sure trying. Throw in the multiple dogs hidden behind fences who bark at anyone passing by, and you have a full blown motorized yo-yo on a leash. Great way to get a good run in - yeah right. At least he didn't bark ;)
1.The Dog is a better runner then I.
Top reason why I shouldn't run with my dog: So basically I am "running" (for lack of a better word for the awkward movement that propels me forward slightly faster then a hearty walk) and this little shit keeps up with me simply by walking fast. No joke. My stride is like a good two feet long, and he just trots along, happy as a damn clam. Another reason, I'm glad I didn't invest in a lab as a running partner. Can you imagine how I'd do against one of those? Too pathetic to imagine. To top it off, my pathetic attempt to race Moose one single block ended with him trying to drag me faster then I could keep up with....definitely going have to work on it and challenge him to another round...Albeit, I'll leave him home and then retrieve him just prior to the one block challenge...and perhaps blind fold him.
So instead of holding the leash, you should get one that goes around your waist. That way you free up your arms to move around however much you want, and the dog doesn't try to pull your shoulder out of its socket :) That's what I did when I ran with my sister's lab.
ReplyDelete