Well, its official, I am a shirted member of the Spokane’s Flying Irish Running Club!!! {Insert Golf Clap Here} Last night I climbed onto the bar at O’Doherty’s, and told an Irish joke to a bar filled with people – most of whom could not hear my joke anyways. It was totally nerve wracking --- and I couldn’t tell if people found it funny or not. Pictured is Texie and I sporting our new shirts - we ran all of our six runs together!
For those of you not attendance, the joke is reprinted below:
A guy walks into a bar and informs the crowd -. I'll give $500 dollars to anybody in here who can drink 10 pints of Guinness back-to-back."
The room is quiet, and no one takes up the man’s offer. One man even leaves.
Thirty minutes later the same gentleman, an Irishman, who left shows back up and taps the man on the shoulder. "Is your bet still good?" asks the Irishman.
The man says yes and the bartender to line up 10 pints of Guinness. Immediately the Irishman tears into all 10 of the pint glasses, drinking them back-to-back.
The man gives the Irishman the $500 and says, "If ya don't mind me askin', what took you so long?”
The Irishman replies, "Oh... I had to go to the pub down the street to see if I could do it first."
Yep. Its probably the greatest joke ever. :) Just kidding. Any who, I certainly had to earn my sixth run last night. The run was called the “Stairmaster.” Who doesn’t love running up stairs? Me….and basically anyone who has done it. It burns, its leaves you huffing and puffing, and overall it is a poor life experience . And last night, my 6th Flying Irish run, incorporated about 7 different sets of stairs scattered around downtown Spokane. And we’re not talking about some namby-pamby stairs in your house, we’re talking long ass flights of stairs. And as a result – my calves are burning today.
Not too mention, it totally threw off my mojo. For a 3.25 mile run, and with the exception of two traffic jams on a couple set of stairs (there were over 300+ people on the run) I ran the whole thing – albeit at a snail’s pace. Even a good hearty “sprint to finish” (with the little energy I had left) brought me to the end at a little over 40 minutes. Eww. Not a spectacular run (if you can even call that a “run”), but it earned me the right to climb on the bar, and officially join the club.
Aside from the aching in my calves today, I feel pretty good about it. I am still feeling a bit discouraged that I haven’t hit the sort of mileage and or running times I secretly have been hoping for, but I have started to notice little changes in the way I look and feel. Nothing incredible or mind blowing, but my confidence and energy levels are starting to regain some traction, and my ass is starting to look good again. Both of which I will consider to be tiny victories.
Also, Sunday will be my first “race” of the season and this journey to half marathon glory – the Eastern Washington – Race for the Cure. If you are reading this, and can participate, you should – it’s a great event, for an even greater cause. It will be my 5th Race for the Cure – and each one makes me appreciate the blessings I have had in my life, and reminds me that miracles happen everyday. Here’s a link to the info:
http://www.komeneasternwashington.org/komen-race-for-the-cure/
If you have any questions about it, hit me up via Facebook or cell, I’m happy to tell you the little I know. In closing, to you the makers of Icy Hot – I love you. :) Happy Running!
No comments:
Post a Comment